Which Counties Elect Their Prosecutors and Sheriffs in 2023?

There are nearly 500 elections for prosecutor and sheriff scheduled in 2023. Below is our Bolts database of those local elections.

States that are not listed on this page have no regularly-scheduled prosecutor and sheriff races in 2023. Note: As vacancies arise, special elections may be added to this table.

Read our initial analysis of these elections, in December 2022. Also read our state primers of prosecutor races taking place Kentucky, New York, Mississippi, Pennsylvania, and Virginia.

State ProsecutorSheriffKey Dates
Florida No regularly-scheduled elections.Duval CountyFiling deadline: Jan. 13

Primary: March 21

General: May 16
KentuckyThere are special elections in seven circuits: the 3rd (Christian county), 8th (Edmonson and Warren counties), 21st (Bath, Menifee, Montgomery, Rowan counties), 22nd (Fayette County), 30th, (Jefferson County), 51st (Henderson County) and 53rd (Anderson, Shelby, Spencer counties.No regularly-scheduled electionsPrimary: May 18

General: Nov. 7
Louisiana No regularly-scheduled elections.Each parish holds an election, with the exception of Orleans Parish.Filing deadline: Aug. 10

Primary: Oct. 14

General: Nov. 18
MississippiEach of the state’s 22 districts holds an election.Each of the state’s 82 counties holds an election.Filing deadline: Feb. 1

Primary: Aug. 8

Primary runoff: Aug. 29

General: Nov. 7
New Jersey No electionCounties holding a sheriff election this year are: Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland, Mercer, and Union countiesFiling deadline: March 27

Primary: June 6

General: Nov. 7
New York Counties holding a DA election this year are: Allegany, Bronx, Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Columbia, Delaware, Dutchess, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lewis, Monroe, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, Otsego, Putnam, Queens, Richmond, Rockland, Seneca, Steuben, Sullivan, UlsterCounties holding a sheriff election this year are: Albany, Cortland, Delaware, Fulton, Greene, Herkimer, Lewis, Orleans, Rensselaer, Rockland, Seneca, St. Lawrence, Tioga, Warren, Washington, YatesPrimary filing deadline: April 10

Primary: June 27

General: Nov. 7
Pennsylvania Counties holding a DA election this year are: Adams, Allegheny (Pittsburgh), Beaver, Bedford, Berks, Bradford, Butler, Cambria, Cameron, Carbon, Chester, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Columbia, Crawford, Cumberland, Dauphin, Delaware, Erie, Fayette, Forest, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Huntingdon, Indiana, Juniata, Lancaster, Lehigh, Luzerne, Lycoming, McKean, Mercer, Mifflin, Monroe, Montgomery, Montour, Northampton, Northumberland, Perry, Pike, Snyder, Somerset, Susquehanna, Tioga, Union, Washington, WayneCounties holding a sheriff election this year are: Beaver, Bedford, Berks, Bradford, Carbon, Centre, Chester, Clinton, Crawford, Dauphin, Elk, Fayette, Franklin, Fulton, Indiana, Jefferson, Lancaster, Lehigh, Mercer, Monroe, Montgomery, Montour, Northumberland, Philadelphia, Potter, Snyder, Somerset, Sullivan, Warren, Wayne, Westmoreland, Wyoming, York
Filing deadline: TBD

Primary: May 16

General: Nov. 7
Virginia Each of the state’s 95 counties holds an election.

The Virginia cities that have a prosecutor are not voting this year, but 13 of the state’s 48 cities share a prosecutor with a neighboring county and so will vote this year. They are: Covington, Emporia, Fairfax, Falls Church, Franklin, Galax, Harrisonburg, Lexington, Manassas, Manassas Park, Norton, Poquoson, Williamsburg.
Each of the state’s 95 counties holds an election.

Virginia’s 48 independent cities are not voting for sheriff this year.
Filing deadline: April 6

Primary: June 20

General: Nov. 7
Washington No regularly-scheduled electionSnohomish County and Whatcom CountyFiling deadline: May 19

Primary: Aug. 1

General: Nov. 7